The Diabetic Journey Continues “Week Three”

Posted: March 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

Week One

Week One

Week One

Week Three

Week Three

Week Three

Okay, here are the pics for the week.  For a full gallery of all weeks go to my profile pics link on Facebook.com/diabeticjourneys or click this link.  I’m a little disappointed in my lack of results from last week but not discouraged.  This is a new week.

I thought I might list my original issues and goals at the beginning of each of these so you don’t have to look back into old posts.  Here is the story.  I will try to keep it as short as possible… (Anyone who knows me knows that’s not possible)

I started this journey at 245 pounds, taking 5 shots at max dose and a handful of pills each day.  My blood sugar even with all the meds was ranging from 250 to 450 any given day.   I was not exercising AT ALL and ate semi-healthy food just WAY to much of it.

Along with some accountability partners and support from Planet Fitness I decided to embark on a journey to kick the crap out of type 2 diabetes.

My crazy goal is to lose about 60 pounds and get off all of the diabetic meds.  I started eating more healthy and jogging a couple weeks before Vern Jeremy and I started the full blown plan to kick the crap out of diabetes but here is where I am so far.

  • Weight 213.  A current loss of 32 pounds!
  • ZERO Insulin shots!  The Doc said I could never do this so I replaced her with someone who believed in me.
  • ZERO Diabetic medication!  Was told this could not be done either.  HA!

This journey is far from over.  I still have roughly 32 pounds to lose.  I also have to maintain my blood sugar with ZERO medication.  It will be done, Oh yes, It will be done.

So here were my goals from last week:

  • Go from 213 down to 208 – That did not happen.  Still at 213 ERRRR!
  • Eat 5-6 small meals daily – Again, did not happen.  I’ll explain later
  • Spartacus Workout M, W, F and Run 2.5 Miles Tuesday and Thursday – Any guesses?  This one did not happen as planned either.
  • Eliminate last Acto Plus Met pill – NO Diabetic pills in the pill caddy this week.

It was a rough week.  Normally my accountability partners Vern and Jeremy and Matt help me stay on track when I try to make stupid decisions and I do the same for them.  Well, Wednesday we had a business meeting that turned into a bunch of diet and exercise altering decisions.  We all three held each other accountable and made sure we didn’t use our brains.  We screwed up our meals on Wednesday as well as completely missing our workout.  IT WON’T HAPPEN AGAIN!!!

At first, I was pretty upset that Wednesday’s actions or inaction really screwed up my goals for the week.  All three of us were, BUT… I realized that my mission, my whole journey is about changing my life along with hopefully some others.  If my expectation is that I will never have an off day  (or week) I will most likely fail.  I’m not really good at failing so I have decided that it is alright that we screwed up last week.  We, like everyone else is human and are entitled to be idiots every now and then.  Consider it a reward for all the other good behavior.

I think the bottom line here kids is don’t let a small mistake or failure throw you off of your goal.  It happens.  Move on as long as you move forward.  This week is all about taking control and making it the week last week could have been.  SOOOO, we are going to just have to work a little harder this week!

Here are this weeks goals:

  • Spartacus Workout Monday, Wednesday and Friday.   3 full circuits this week.  OUCH!  2.5 mile run on Tuesday and Thursday.
  • Burn an average of 3500 calories each day.
  • Eat 4-6 small meals each day.  Small portions totaling 2k calories.
  • 3-4 Protein shakes each day.  1 in the morning, one pre-workout and 2 scoops or 50 grams after workout.
  • Lose 5 pounds or get down to 208

I told a Facebook friend this week I would do a better job or keeping track of meals.  Here is the only problem.  I feel like if I put together some kind of eating plan that I do others will think it is going to magically work for them.  The reason I stress “IT IS NOT A DIET” is because “Diets” in my humble opinion DO NOT WORK!  Don’t get me wrong.  You can crash diet and lose weight but it ALMOST never stays off.  I support healthy eating.  I guess it wont hurt if next week I start letting you know what I did though.

I will take all the support I can get so feel free to follow me on facebook. If you are diabetic or know someone who is, feel free to send them to our facebook page.  They will find the accountability partners they are looking for.

Remember, take control and make today the day yesterday could have been.

Comments
  1. ida says:

    wow! amazing so happy for you. getting off all diabetic meds? you rock! congrats and thanks for the inspiration and for sharing your story.

    • Thank you so much. I could not do it without my accountability partners. Stay tuned for tomorrow’s pics and updates. Make sure you invite others and inspire them to kick the crap out of diabetes also. TAKE CONTROL and make tomorrow what today could have been!

Leave a Reply

